Will Davison and Mika Salo win V8 Supercars Gold Coast 600 race 2

Brett Davis

After crashing out in Saturday’s race, Will Davison and Mika Salo have taken out the second and final race of the V8 Supercars Gold Coast 600 in the FPR Ford Falcon.

(Image source: WillDavison.com.au)

A pit stop for tyres on lap 13 was the race-changing call for the Ford Performance Racing number six car. Salo had fell down the order after starting from the second row of the grid, but a safety car provided an opportunity to gamble on an early stop.

Yesterday’s winner – TeamVodafone Hoden driver Jamie Whincup – had his headlights in the rear vision mirror of his Ford rival in the closing stages. but Davison held on for the win.

“I was just focussing on getting through the opening lap of my stint,” Davison admitted.

“I had a good, hard look at myself last night and I really need to learn about how to string two days together because we have had so much speed and nothing to show.

“Mika did a superb job with that opening stint and all the FPR boys were superb. It feels great.”

Whincup and teammate Sebastien Bourdais’s combined finishes of first and second saw them win the Dan Wheldon memorial trophy for the second consecutive year.

It was a case of deja vu for Mark Winterbottom who charged from behind in the other FPR Ford, getting himself and co-driver Will Power their second podium of the weekend.

After a hectic race one on Saturday which saw two race restarts, the safety car was used five times while 20 of the 25 starters finished the race, 17 on the lead lap.

Jamie Whincup extended his championship lead over Mark Winterbottom to over 200 points.

The next round of the V8 Supercars will take place in Abu Dhabi in two weeks.

1 6 Trading Post FPR Ford Will Davison Falcon FG
2 5 Orrcon Steel FPR Ford Mark Winterbottom Falcon FG
3 1 TeamVodafone Jamie Whincup Commodore VE2
4 8 Team BOC Jason Bright Commodore VE2
5 91 Tekno Autosports Michael Patrizi Commodore VE2
6 888 TeamVodafone Craig Lowndes Commodore VE2
7 14 Lockwood Racing Fabian Coulthard Commodore VE2
8 47 Lucky 7 Racing Tim Slade Falcon FG
9 34 Fujitsu Racing GRM Michael Caruso Commodore VE2
10 17 Jim Beam Racing Steven Johnson Falcon FG
11 51 Pepsi Max Crew Greg Murphy Commodore VE2
12 22 Holden Racing Team James Courtney Commodore VE2
13 66 Supercheap Auto Racing Russell Ingall Commodore VE2
14 2 Holden Racing Team Garth Tander Commodore VE2
15 12 Jim Beam Racing Dean Fiore Falcon FG
16 49 VIP Petfoods Steve Owen Falcon FG
17 11 Fair Dinkum Sheds Racing Karl Reindler Commodore VE2
18 9 SP Tools Racing Shane van Gisbergen Falcon FG
19 15 Jack Daniel’s Racing Rick Kelly Commodore VE2
20 19 Tekno Autosports Jonathon Webb Commodore VE2
21 4 Irwin Racing Lee Holdsworth Falcon FG
22 18 Team Norton DJR James Moffat Falcon FG
23 7 Jack Daniel’s Racing Todd Kelly Commodore VE2
24 33 Fujitsu Racing GRM Alexandre Premat Commodore VE2
25 30 Team iSelect Taz Douglas Commodore VE2
26 55 The Bottle-O Racing Team David Reynolds Falcon FG
DNF 21 Wilson Security Racing David Wall Commodore VE2
DNF 3 Tony D’Alberto Racing Tony D’Alberto Falcon FG
Next Post

2014 Mercedes-Benz E 63 AMG to feature 4MATIC all-wheel drive?

Some details of the 2014 Mercedes-Benz E 63 AMG facelift are starting to trickle through, with the latest news suggesting the German muscle car will switch to an all-wheel drive layout. (Current model shown) Ever since the AMG E-Class was original launched in 1993, as the E 36 AMG, power […]

Subscribe Us Now