Sebastian Vettel wins 2012 Korean F1 Grand Prix, Webber second

Josh Barnett

Red Bull Racing’s Sebastian Vettel has taken over the Formula 1 championship lead after winning the 2012 Korean Grand Prix; his third victory from as many races.

With Australian teammate Mark Webber finishing second and Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso coming third, the German world champion jumped the Spaniard (Alonso) in the rankings.

After the Red Bull Racing duo both started on the front row, Vettel got the better jump when the lights went out and raced in front of pole-sitting Webber.

It was all too easy for Vettel for most of the race, until the closing laps when he started reporting that one of his tyres was severely worn. But the rubber stayed strong for him to cross the line over eight seconds ahead of Webber who set the fastest lap of the race on the penultimate one.

Alonso’s teammate Felipe Massa continued his return to form with a fourth placing with Lotus driver Kimi Raikkonen a lot further down the road in fifth.

Force India driver Nico Hulkenburg was sixth ahead of Lotus pilot Romain Grosjean, followed by the Toro Rosso pairing of Jean Eric-Vergne and Australian Daniel Ricciardo. The eighth placing for Ricciardo was his third points-earning finish (top 10) in a row and fourth in the last five grand prix.

McLaren driver Lewis Hamilton managed to salvage a single point in 10th after struggling for pace all grand prix.

It was an even worse day for teammate Jenson Button who was taken out by Sauber driver Kamui Kobayashi on the first lap of the race.

Mercedes driver Nico Rosberg didn’t make a complete lap of the Korean International Circuit either. Teammate Michael Schumacher came away with no points as well after finishing 13th.

The next race on the F1 calendar will be the Indian Grand Prix on the 28th of October.

2012 Korean Grand Prix results:

1    Sebastian Vettel    Red Bull Racing-Renault    Winner
2    Mark Webber    Red Bull Racing-Renault    +8.2 secs
3    Fernando Alonso    Ferrari    +13.9 secs
4    Felipe Massa    Ferrari    +20.1 secs
5    Kimi Räikkönen    Lotus-Renault    +36.7 secs
6    Nico Hulkenberg    Force India-Mercedes    +45.3 secs
7    Romain Grosjean    Lotus-Renault    +54.8 secs
8    Jean-Eric Vergne    STR-Ferrari    +69.5 secs
9    Daniel Ricciardo    STR-Ferrari    +71.7 secs
10    Lewis Hamilton    McLaren-Mercedes    +79.6 secs
11    Sergio Perez    Sauber-Ferrari    +80.0 secs
12    Paul di Resta    Force India-Mercedes    +84.4 secs
13    Michael Schumacher    Mercedes    +89.2 secs
14    Pastor Maldonado    Williams-Renault    +94.9 secs
15    Bruno Senna    Williams-Renault    +96.9 secs
16    Vitaly Petrov    Caterham-Renault    +1 Lap
17    Heikki Kovalainen    Caterham-Renault    +1 Lap
18    Timo Glock    Marussia-Cosworth    +1 Lap
19    Charles Pic    Marussia-Cosworth    +2 Laps
20    Narain Karthikeyan    HRT-Cosworth    +2 Laps
Ret    Pedro de la Rosa    HRT-Cosworth    +39 Laps
Ret    Kamui Kobayashi    Sauber-Ferrari    +39 Laps
Ret    Nico Rosberg    Mercedes    Accident
Ret    Jenson Button    McLaren-Mercedes    Accident

Next Post

Chrysler previews 2012 SEMA lineup, including V10 Charger

Chrysler is planning to make a big scene at the upcoming 2012 SEMA Show in Las Vegas with a range of customised, accessorised, and optioned up Chrysler, Dodge and Jeep vehicles. The highlight of which, we think, is a Dodge Charger called ‘Charger Juiced’ featuring an 8.4-litre V10 engine borrowed […]

Subscribe Us Now