Sebastian Loeb wins 2012 WRC Acropolis Rally in Greece

Josh Barnett

World Rally Champion Sebastian Loeb has extended his lead in the 2012 points standings with a comfortable victory in the Acropolis Rally despite a tyre puncture.

The Frenchman finished 40 seconds ahead of second placed Citroen teammate Mikko Hirvonen. Ford driver Jari-Matti Latvala completed the podium.

Loeb lost three minutes after having to change the tyres on his DS3 with three stages to go, but that didn’t hamper the winner of the past nine seasons.

The man who was the last to beat Loeb to a championship, Norweigian Petter Solberg, had an up and down event. A wrong tyre choice saw him fall back in the field before reeling Loeb back in. A crash on the first stage on Sunday ended his rally early.

The next round of the World Rally Championship will be in New Zealand on June 22-24.

1 S. LOEB 0.0
2 M. HIRVONEN +40.0
3 J. LATVALA +3:04.8
4 M. ØSTBERG +6:16.4
5 M. PROKOP +7:46.5
6 T. NEUVILLE +9:41.4
7 S. OGIER +12:59.9
8 Y. AL RAJHI +20:12.2
9 O. TÄNAK +23:18.9
10 A. ALKUWARI +28:40.5

Championship standings after 6 of 13 rounds:

Sebastien Loeb    119
Mikko Hirvonen     89
Mads Ostberg     80
Petter Solberg    73
Jari-Matti Latvala     45
Evgeny Novikov    43
Martin Prokop    36
Nasser Al-Attiyah    23
Sebastien Ogier    22
Thierry Neuville    22

Next Post

Aston Martin One-77 crash in Hong Kong

It’s always a shame reporting on car crashes, but when it’s an Aston Martin One-77 crash, it almost becomes too painful to bear. One such incident recently happened in Hong Kong. It’s believed the rare and extremely expensive Aston Martin One-77 is from China, however, it’s unknown just how the […]

Subscribe Us Now