Sebastian Vettel wins 2012 Indian Formula 1 Grand Prix

Josh Barnett

Sebastian Vettel has won the second Indian Grand Prix and extended his championship lead. The German world champion won from flag to flag over Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso and Australian teammate Mark Webber.

Webber’s Red Bull car had it’s KERS fail mid-race and only just managed to hold off McLaren’s Lewis Hamilton for the final spot on the podium. Webber said losing KERS essentially ruined his race and cost him second place.

“It’s maybe hard for people watching to know what it affects on the car,” Webber said after the race. “Its power on the straight obviously, but also managing brake balances and those sort of things.

“The (team was) trying to help me get the KERS to recover and were talking with me on the radio. In addition, when you have a one-stop race, it’s always a chance you have a front-right lock up.

“As the fronts are very important you need to look after them which can affect the rhythm a little bit, but I tried to stay as cool as possible.

“Overall, I was pretty happy with how I drove; we should have finished further up the road, but it’s the way it was today.”

Hamilton’s teammate Jenson Button came fifth while Ferrari’s Felipe Massa came sixth.

Australian Daniel Ricciardo finished 13th after starting 15th on the grid.

2012 Indian Formula One Grand Prix results:

1 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull Racing-Renault
2 Fernando Alonso Ferrari +9.4 secs
3 Mark Webber Red Bull Racing-Renault +13.2 secs
4 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes +13.9 secs
5 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes +26.2 secs
6 Felipe Massa Ferrari +44.6 secs
7 Kimi Räikkönen Lotus-Renault +45.2 secs
8 Nico Hulkenberg Force India-Mercedes +54.9 secs
9 Romain Grosjean Lotus-Renault +56.1 secs
10 Bruno Senna Williams-Renault +74.9 secs
11 Nico Rosberg Mercedes +81.6 secs
12 Paul di Resta Force India-Mercedes +82.8 secs
13 Daniel Ricciardo STR-Ferrari +86.0 secs
14 Kamui Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari +86.4 secs
15 Jean-Eric Vergne STR-Ferrari +1 Lap
16 Pastor Maldonado Williams-Renault +1 Lap
17 Vitaly Petrov Caterham-Renault +1 Lap
18 Heikki Kovalainen Caterham-Renault +1 Lap
19 Charles Pic Marussia-Cosworth +1 Lap
20 Timo Glock Marussia-Cosworth +2 Laps
21 Narain Karthikeyan HRT-Cosworth +2 Laps
22 Michael Schumacher Mercedes +5 Laps
Ret Pedro de la Rosa HRT-Cosworth Brakes
Ret Sergio Perez Sauber-Ferrari Puncture damage

Next Post

Video: 2012 Ford Focus ST vs Golf GTI with Ken Block and Vaughn Gittin Jr.

In a new marketing campaign for the 2012 Ford Focus ST, Ford asked rally and drift pro Ken Block to ‘race’ drift champion Vaughn Gittin Jr., with Block driving the Focus and Vaughn Gittin Jr. in the latest Volkswagen Golf GTI. Of course, the race is skewed towards the Ford, but […]

Subscribe Us Now