FPR fill V8 Supercars front row at Hidden Valley

Josh Barnett

Ford Performance Racing continue to be the pace setters in V8 Supercars with their three drivers filling the first three spots in qualifying for the first race of the SKYCITY Triple Crown at Hidden Valley Raceway.

Mark Winterbottom posted the best time of 1:08.5587 early in the qualifying session but he couldn’t match his performance in the shootout and championship leading teammate Will Davison took pole ahead of stablemate David Reynolds.

Winterbottom will start fourth alongside Jamie Whincup on the second row while the third row will be occupied by Stone Brothers Racing drivers Shane van Gisbergen and Tim Slade. Their teammate Lee Holdsworth will be behind on row four with Holden Racing Team’s Garth Tander.

Jack Daniels driver Rick Kelly will start from ninth while Lockwood Racing Holden driver Fabian Coulthard was the biggest loser in the shootout, dropping the 10th after being fifth fastest in qualifying.

The biggest surprise of the session was Craig Lowndes who could only manage the 20th fastest time.

The race will get underway at 4:35pm AEST.


Qualifying times

1. Mark Winterbottom (Ford) 1:08.5587

2. Will Davison (Ford) +0.0425

3. David Reynolds (Ford) +0.0938

4. Jamie Whincup (Holden) +0.1021

5. Fabian Coulthard (Holden) +0.1158

6. Tim Slade (Ford) +0.2215

7. Lee Holdsworth (Ford) +0.3014

8. Garth Tander (Holden) +0.4406

9. Shane Van Gisbergen (Ford) +0.4447

10.Rick Kelly (Holden) +0.4471

11.Steve Owen (Ford) +0.5971

12.Jason Bright (Holden) +0.5980

13.Todd Kelly (Holden) +0.6040

14.Russell Ingall (Holden) +0.6068

15.Michael Caruso (Holden) +0.6117

16.Tony D’Alberto (Ford) +0.6253

17.Jonathon Webb (Holden) +0.6513

18.Michael Patrizi (Holden) +0.7371

19.James Courtney (Holden) +0.7435

20.Craig Lowndes (Holden) +0.7624

21.Karl Reindler (Holden) +0.9443

22.Steven Johnson (Ford) +1.0157

23.David Wall (Holden) +1.1096

24.Alexandre Premat (Holden) +1.1171

25.David Russell (Holden) +1.2085

26.Taz Douglas (Holden) +1.2193

27.Dean Fiore (Ford) +1.3221

28.James Moffat (Ford) +1.3407


Top ten shootout

1. Will Davison (Ford) 1:08.6664

2. David Reynolds (Ford) +0.4196

3. Jamie Whincup (Holden) +0.4435

4. Mark Winterbottom (Ford) +0.5942

5. Shane Van Gisbergen (Ford) +0.6672

6. Tim Slade (Ford) +0.7712

7. Garth Tander (Holden) +0.8068

8. Lee Holdsworth (Ford) +0.8332

9. Rick Kelly (Holden) +0.8560

10. Fabian Coulthard (Holden) +0.8695

Next Post

Jamie Whincup wins race one at Hidden Valley

TeamVodafone Holden driver Jamie Whincup has regained the V8 Supercars championship lead after a win in race one at Hidden Valley Raceway in Darwin. Whincup brought it home ahead of the Ford Performance Racing duo of Will Davison and Mark Winterbottom who both had dominated qualifying. The reigning champ started […]

Subscribe Us Now