2016 Toyota LandCruiser revealed, on sale in October

August 17, 2015

The updated 2016 Toyota LandCruiser has been revealed, bringing a facelifted design, increased safety, and boosted performance. It will go on sale in Australia in October.

2016 Toyota LandCruiser-off road

As previously snapped in pre-production form, the 2016 LandCruiser gets a new front grille layout with a protruding central piece and three horizontal tiers. There’s also new projector-style headlights, bonnet, and bumper bar to give it a more modern look.

Other cosmetic changes include fresh side mouldings and door handles, while at the back is a new bumper bar, combination taillights, mud guards, and a new central taillgate panel to match the updated front end.

Toyota has made some revisions in the engine compartment, with the 4.5-litre twin-turbo diesel V8 getting a kick from 195kW to 200kW (up 5kW), with the same hefty 650Nm torque figure carrying over. The lift in power is thanks to new injectors and revised engine mapping. A diesel particulate filter with a protection plate is also added in.

Fuel economy for the diesel is improved by about eight per cent, dropping from 10.3L/100km to 9.5L/100km. It passes Euro 5 emissions regulations.

Dynamic Display Ad(Long Version)

The 4.6-litre naturally aspirated V8 petrol carries over the same 227kW and 439Nm outputs, however, the air-injector system has been altered to reduce emissions. It now offers a faster warm-up from a cold start. Average fuel consumption is rated at 13.6L/100km.

In terms of technology changes, the 2016 LandCruiser VX and Sahara get a new TFT instrument cluster display measuring 4.2 inches. These variants also get an Electro Multi Vision and Navigation unit with a 9.0-inch display.

Pre-collision safety has been added to the list of optional tech, along with lane departure alert, and dynamic radar cruise control with automatic braking. Automatic high-beam function is added as well.

2016 Toyota LandCruiser-rear

The new model will go on sale in Australia during the second half of October. Prices are yet to be announced. The lineup will contain the diesel-only GX, petrol or diesel GXL, and petrol or diesel VX and Sahara. The GX is a five-seat model, while the diesel VX and Sahara offer seven seats, with the rest of the range equipped with eight seats.

Brett is the editor and founder of PerformanceDrive. He's obsessed with driving, having played with Matchbox cars until he was tall enough to drive a real one. After initially working as a mechanic, Brett earned a degree in journalism and entered media as an editorial assistant at Top Gear Australia magazine. He then worked at CarAdvice. His dream is to live next door to the Nurburgring in Germany.