Lewis Hamilton secures pole at 2012 Italian F1 Grand Prix

The field for the 2012 Italian Formula 1 Grand Prix will be headed by McLaren Mercedes drivers Lewis Hamilton and Jenson Button after the British pair dominated qualifying today.

Fellow English-based team Red Bull Racing struggled to keep up with the silver arrows, with Sebastian Vettel posting the sixth fastest time in Q3 while Webber missed out on a spot in the third session by about five hundredths of a second. The Australian will start from 11th.

Ferrari driver Felipe Massa had his best qualifying performance in a long time with the third quickest time on the prancing horse’s home circuit. Force India’s Paul di Resta will start alongside the Brazilian.

Row three will be an all-German affair with Mercedes veteran Michael Schumacher joining Vettel while compatriot Nico Rosberg will start directly behind his teammate and beside Lotus pilot Kimi Raikkonen.

Sauber’s Kamui Kobayashi and Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso complete the top 10.

Aussie Daniel Ricciardo will start from 15th in his Toro Rosso.

  1. Lewis Hamilton     McLaren-Mercedes     1:24.211    1:24.394    1:24.010
  2. Jenson Button     McLaren-Mercedes     1:24.672    1:24.255    1:24.133
  3. Felipe Massa     Ferrari     1:24.882    1:24.505    1:24.247
  4. Paul di Resta     Force India-Mercedes     1:24.875    1:24.345    1:24.304
  5. Michael Schumacher     Mercedes     1:25.302    1:24.675    1:24.540
  6. Sebastian Vettel     Red Bull Racing-Renault     1:25.011    1:24.687    1:24.802
  7. Nico Rosberg     Mercedes     1:24.689    1:24.515    1:24.833
  8. Kimi Räikkönen     Lotus-Renault     1:25.151    1:24.742    1:24.855
  9. Kamui Kobayashi     Sauber-Ferrari     1:25.317    1:24.683    1:25.109
  10. Fernando Alonso     Ferrari     1:24.175    1:24.242    1:25.678
  11. Mark Webber     Red Bull Racing-Renault     1:25.556    1:24.809
  12. Pastor Maldonado     Williams-Renault     1:25.103    1:24.820
  13. Sergio Perez     Sauber-Ferrari     1:25.300    1:24.901
  14. Bruno Senna     Williams-Renault     1:25.135    1:25.042
  15. Daniel Ricciardo     STR-Ferrari     1:25.728    1:25.312
  16. Jerome D’Ambrosio     Lotus-Renault     1:25.834    1:25.408
  17. Jean-Eric Vergne     STR-Ferrari     1:25.649    1:25.441
  18. Heikki Kovalainen     Caterham-Renault     1:26.382
  19. Vitaly Petrov     Caterham-Renault     1:26.887
  20. Timo Glock     Marussia-Cosworth     1:27.039
  21. Charles Pic     Marussia-Cosworth     1:27.073
  22. Narain Karthikeyan     HRT-Cosworth     1:27.441
  23. Pedro de la Rosa     HRT-Cosworth     1:27.629
  24. Nico Hulkenberg     Force India-Mercedes (No time)

Josh Barnett specialises in motorsport and road testing. His passion for cars is long and wide, and his experience is just as impressive. Josh's work has appeared in titles such as Street Commodores and Fox Sports.

  •  Bulk-buying discounts passed on to you
  •  Get a no-obligation free quote
  •  Australia-wide new car dealer network
  • We can deliver the car to your door
See how much we can save you!

Complete the form below to get started. Australian residents only.

Post code