Sebastian Vettel wins 2012 Singapore Formula 1 Grand Prix

Josh Barnett

Reigning world champion Sebastian Vettel has won an incident-packed 2012 Singapore Formula One Grand Prix under lights.

McLaren driver Lewis Hamilton led the race from pole and appeared to be running away into the darkness, but a gearbox problem saw his car come to a halt on lap 23, handing the lead to Vettel.

From there, the Red Bull Racing pilot went untouched – including after two restarts after safety cars – to lead home Hamilton’s teammate Jenson Button and points-leading Ferrari driver Fernando Alonso.

Australian Mark Webber finished down in 10th position after opting to have a three-stop strategy. Only Ferrari’s Felipe Massa was able to finish in the top 10 (8th) after pitting three times.

Webber’s compatriot Daniel Ricciardo had a stellar race, finishing just ahead of the Red Bull driver in ninth to collect F1 points for just the third time in his F1 career.

Another career highlight came for Force India’s Paul Di Resta, finishing a personal best fourth.

Mercedes driver Nico Rosberg finished fifth. His teammate and seven-time world champion Michael Schumacher failed to finish the race after braking way too late into a corner on lap 39, collecting Ricciardo’s teammate Jean Eric-Vergne on his way.

The results sees Vettel jump to second in the standings and shortening the gap to Alonso.

The next race on the F1 calendar is at Suzuka in Japan on October 7.

  1. Sebastian Vettel    Red Bull Racing-Renault    Winner
  2. Jenson Button    McLaren-Mercedes    +8.9 secs
  3. Fernando Alonso    Ferrari    +15.2 secs
  4. Paul di Resta    Force India-Mercedes    +19.0 secs
  5. Nico Rosberg    Mercedes    +34.7 secs
  6. Kimi Räikkönen    Lotus-Renault    +35.7 secs
  7. Romain Grosjean    Lotus-Renault    +36.6 secs
  8. Felipe Massa    Ferrari    +42.8 secs
  9. Daniel Ricciardo    STR-Ferrari    +45.8 secs
  10. Mark Webber    Red Bull Racing-Renault    +47.1 secs
  11. Sergio Perez    Sauber-Ferrari    +50.6 secs
  12. Timo Glock    Marussia-Cosworth    +91.9 secs
  13. Kamui Kobayashi    Sauber-Ferrari    +97.1 secs
  14. Nico Hulkenberg    Force India-Mercedes    +99.4 secs
  15. Heikki Kovalainen    Caterham-Renault    +107.9 secs
  16. Charles Pic    Marussia-Cosworth    +132.8 secs
  17. Pedro de la Rosa    HRT-Cosworth    +1 Lap
  18. Bruno Senna    Williams-Renault    +2 Lap
  19. Vitaly Petrov    Caterham-Renault    +2 Lap

Jean-Eric Vergne    STR-Ferrari    +21 Laps
Michael Schumacher    Mercedes    +21 Laps
Pastor Maldonado    Williams-Renault    +23 Laps
Narain Karthikeyan    HRT-Cosworth    +29 Laps
Lewis Hamilton    McLaren-Mercedes    +37 Laps

Next Post

New Honda Civic Type R confirmed for 2015

Fans of the high-revving Honda Type R club will be pleased to hear Honda has confirmed the Civic Type R will return in 2015. The new model is expected to feature a more powerful, turbocharged engine – a first for a Type R. It is a fairly long wait, however, […]

Subscribe Us Now