Lamborghini Gallardo on fire wins Targa High Country rally – video

Brett Davis

Jason White has won the inaugural round of the 2011 CAMS Australian Targa Championship Targa High Country rally, despite his Lamborghini Gallardo being on fire for half of the run.

The Lamborghini Gallardo is no stronger to sudden bouts of spontaneous combustion, with several examples going up in flames all around the world in the past year or two.

This latest incident didn’t stop Jason White winning the Targa High Country round though, ahead of Tony Quinn and Naomi Tillett in their Nissan GT-R, and Matt Sims and Denis Sims also in a Nissan GT-R.

It’s unknown what actually caused the fire, but whatever it was, it didn’t stop White punching on and claiming the win. White said in a recent sportcom report,

“It was on fire from about the half way mark, but we thought it was best to get up to the finish where there were more fire extinguishers, rather than trying to put it out with ours. And obviously there was a win at stake so we just pushed on.

“It was a bit hard to concentrate with a fire ball hanging out the back but man, what a dramatic finish.”

Funnily enough, White and his hot Lamborghini Gallardo pulled up at the finish line which was situated outside the Mt Buller fire station.

Click play on the video below for to see White driving the Gallardo on fire during a section of the rally.

The next round will take place in Hobart for the Targa Wrest Point. Hopefully

See below for some of the race results:

1. Jason White / John White, Lamborghini Gallardo
2. Tony Quinn / Naomi Tillett, Nissan GT-R, +10s
3. Matt Sims / Denis Sims, Nissan GT-R, +1m16s
4. Matt Close / Casey Close, Audi TT RS, +1m32s
5. Greg Garwood / John Allen, Porsche 911 GT2 CS, +2m29s
6. Jim Richards / Barry Oliver, Porsche 911 GT2 RS, +3m24s

1. Donn Todd / Dean Tighe, 1971 Ford Capri Perana
2. Jon Siddins / Darren Ferguson, 1970 Datsun 240Z, +2m49s
3. Tolley Challis / Greg Flood, 1974 Porsche 911 RS, +3m09s
4. Bernie Wilson / John Wilson, 1971 Ford Capri Perana, +4m57s
5. Craig Haysman / Neil Branum, 1981 Triumph TR7 V8, +5m16s

1. Matthew Turnbull / Andrew Hobson, 2000 Porsche GT3 CS
2. Tim Hendy / Joanne Sibley, 1999 Nissan Skyline GT-R, +3m00s
3. Steve Spada / Jessica Nicholson, 1999 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo VI, +3m01s
4. Samantha Stevens / Claire Ryan, 1999 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo VI, +3m13s
5. Adam Kaplan / David Kaplan, 1988 Holden Commodore HSV SS, +3m24s

1. Simon Evans / Sue Evans, Mazda3 MPS
2. Kym De Britt / David Percy, Holden Astra, +3m07s
3. Adam Spence / Tracey Button, BMW 130i, +3m53s
4. Adam Dodd / Lee Challoner-Miles, Mazda MX5, +5m44s
5. Andrew Mckay / Alex Hailstone, Mazda MX5, +6m06s

1. Ric Shaw / James Parish, Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X
2. Dean Evans / Simone Bachmann, Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X, +1s
3. Scott Millar / Christopher Dean, Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X, +2m08s
4. Ben Newman / Crichton Lewis, Subaru WRX STI, +4m28s
5. Peter Wrench / Liam Dunn, Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X, +5m34s

1. Bruce Power / Greg Hannay, 1979 Mazda RX7
2. Paul Stuart / Mike Herrod, 1973 Porsche 911 Carrera RS, +1s
3. Greg Cook / Jenny Cole, 1973 Porsche 911 Carrera RS, +1m33s
4. John Ireland / Michael Ribot, 1977 Porsche 911 Carrera S, +2m02s
5. Greg Hutley / Craig Laird, 1972 Datsun 240Z, +2m28s

1. Jon Siddins / Darren Ferguson, 1970 Datsun 240Z
2. Donn Todd / Dean Tighe, 1971 Ford Capri Perana, +1m37s
3. Robin Lowe / Peter Lowe, 1971 Datsun 240Z, +2m50s
4. Colin Byrne / Paul Stoopman, 1971 Alfa Romeo GTV 2000, +2m53s
5. Scott Kent / Wayne Kent, 1965 Ford Mustang, +2m59s

Next Post

Porsche Ferrari 458 rival to use upcoming Audi R8 platform

The speculated upcoming Porsche Ferrari 458 rival, or whatever it ends up being called, will apparently share the same platform as the upcoming Audi R8, under the Volkswagen Group umbrella. A large proportion of the new platform will be made from carbon fibre. In December 2010, Volkswagen Group announced plans […]

Subscribe Us Now