2013 International Engine of the Year winners announced

Brett Davis

It’s that time of year again. The 2013 International Engine of the Year Awards have been announced, with some of last year’s winners carrying over various crowns, and some newcomers making their mark.


Taking home the overall 2013 International Engine of the Year Award is once again the Ford EcoBoost 1.0-litre turbocharged three-cylinder. It earned 479 points from the panel of international judges.

The pint-sized three-pot was followed by the Volkswagen 1.4TSI supercharged and turbocharged four-cylinder, which can be found in the Golf TSI 118. Rounding out the top three is BMW’s new 2.0-litre four-cylinder turbo, which can be found in various tunes, ranging from 135kW to 180kW. It’s available in everything from the 125i and 320i to the 520i and 528i.

As for the 2013 Performance Engine of the Year Award, it goes to a Ferrari, like last year, however, this year it goes to the new F12 6.3-litre V12 which was, for a short period, the most powerful Ferrari production engine ever. It produces an almighty 545kW. The astonishing engine earned 294 points. Rounding out the top three is last year’s winner, the Ferrari 458 4.5-litre V8, followed by the McLaren MP4-12C 3.8-litre twin-turbo V8.

Taking home the 2013 New Engine of the Year Award is the Volkswagen 1.4TSI. It was awarded 234 points, following closely behind was the Ferrari F12 6.3 V12 with 220 points, and the Mazda SkyActiv 2.5 petrol with 136 points.

Fiat 500 TwinAir

In the Sub-1-litre Engine of the Year Award, the Ford 1.0-litre EcoBoost engine predictably took the crown, with 557 points. Rounding out the top three is the fun little turbocharged 875cc two-cylinder Fiat engine, found in the 500 TwinAir. The Volkswagen 1.0-litre engine, found in the Up!, finished up in third place.

Moving up to the 1.4 to 1.8-litre Engine of the Year, the overall crown went to the BMW/Peugeot 1.6-litre turbocharged four-cylinder, as seen in the MINI Cooper S and various Peugeot models. It earned 317 points. It was followed by the Volkswagen/Audi 1.8 TFSI (231 points), and then Ford’s new 1.6-litre EcoBoost (145 points) which can be found in various Ford and Volvo vehicles.

In the 1.8 to 2.0-litre Engine of the Year category, the top three remained unchanged from last year, with the BMW 2.0-litre turbocharged four-cylinder, found in various ’20i’ and ’28i’ models, sitting on top with 295 points. It’s followed by the Volkswagen/Audi 2.0-litre TFSI, as seen in the Audi TT and VW Passat. Claiming third spot was the BMW 2.0-litre turbo-diesel, as found in various ’18d’ and ’20d’ models.

Audi TT S line Competition

Next up, the 2.0-litre to 2.5-litre Engine of the Year segment, which is made up by the same top three as last year. The overall winner was and is the cracking 2.5-litre TFSI turbocharged five-cylinder, as seen in the TT RS, with 368 points. This year the 2.2-litre Mazda SkyActiv diesel overtakes the Mercedes-Benz 2.1-litre CDI turbo-diesel, as opposed to last year which saw the Mercedes claim second place.

Moving into the more powerful end of the engine spectrum, the 2.5 to 3.0-litre Engine of the Year Award goes to the new Porsche 2.7-litre flat-six, as seen in the Boxster and Cayman. It was awarded 259 points. Sitting in second place was last year’s winner of this category, the BMW 3.0-litre TwinPower turbo inline six as found in various ’35i’ models. Rounding out the top three is the BMW 3.0-litre turbo-diesel inline six, as seen in lots of ’30d’ badged models.

BMW 335i

In the 3.0 to 4.0-litre Engine of the Year, last year’s winner, the BMW M3 4.0-litre V8, was pushed into second place by the McLaren MP4-12C 3.8-litre twin-turbo V8. Both engines were awarded 333 and 320 points, respectively. The new Audi/Bentley 4.0-litre TFSI twin-turbo V8 jumped straight into third place with 281 points, after only being launched last year in some models.

Finally, in the Above 4.0-litre Engine of the Year Award, two Ferrari engines sit at the top. Coming in first position is the F12 6.3-litre V12, on 270 points, with the Ferrari 458 4.5-litre V8 claiming second with 250 points. The Mercedes-Benz AMG 5.5-litre twin-turbo V8 claims third, with 158 points.

Interestingly, the Fiat 873cc two-cylinder picked up the 2013 Green Engine of the Year Award, followed by the Chevrolet/Holden Volt 1.4-litre range-extending hybrid powertrain. Both are followed by the petrol-less Tesla Model S.

Next Post

Video: 2014 BMW M3 prototype spotted carving up the Nurburgring

BMW has been spotted once again testing a prototype version of the next-gen 2014 BMW M3 on the Nurburgring. Development must be getting very near the end now, with minimal camouflaging left on the prototypes. The next-gen BMW M3 could potentially be called the M4 in two-door guise, following in […]

Subscribe Us Now